Hello from Cartagena, Bolivar, Colombia

Hello!

I have arrived!  It feels incredibly hot here, even though it was only in the 80s I think.  It SEEMS hot though.  Maybe it is because I skipped a Florida summer for the first time in five years?  It is incredibly humid here though, and there is no AC in a lot of places (or at least in places I can afford to go).  Oh and it does rain here regularly at around 2 PM during this season, not too unlike Florida.

Here are some pictures!

The AC is turned on in the hostel dorm I am in at night to freezing conditions yet is not on during the day.  Which is okay as it is dark with fans and actually plenty cool.  I am staying at Casa Viena on Calle San Andres (Carrero 10) in the downtown area called Getsemani.  The place is clean and not too crowded or loud but has enough people to talk to and see what people are up to.  I am thinking of joining a girl here to Medellin next week.  I am hoping to head up to Santa Marta and Parque Tayrona in between so that means I need to head out soon.

So far I am amazed by the colors and the people.  There are people walking around everywhere all day and half through the night.  People are up early, I went to get my yellow fever shot today at 7 AM and there was a huge line already and the vaccinations did not even start until 8 AM.  There are people playing music everywhere and the walled city is beautiful. In Orlando its almost empty at 7 AM.  It is easy to navigate once you figure out the street names change a lot and have a number (that does not change) and name and sometimes I can find the number but mostly not.  Getsemani and the historical waled city center are both nice places to walk around.  Getsemani has more local restaurants and shops and pharmacies that are very affordable.  The historic center is more upscale and very upscale touristy.

I am a lot less nervous about just walking around and hostel except I am getting a little paranoid about the bugs now.  A group of people here from Australia had bed bugs all over their bodies.  Another group had i have no idea what type of bites from Playa Blanca.  The Australian girl I talked to also got salmonella three times in Peru and her friend got it even more times and she has also had a problem with fleas here.  One of the girls who was in the room for a few days had dengue fever.
I have not taken many photos since it rained when I got here and the second day I only took pictures in the afternoon as I explored the city without camera, probably a mistake, but I just  wanted to get a lay of the land so I would not get lost.   Today I have not done much since I had to do a lot of things online, book travel arrangements, and job searches online.  I had a really great lunch and a great mango iced smoothie later.  I used an ATM (it all had English options) at the supermarket.  It was a good day either way, and its not over yet.

Update! 8-18-2012

There was a power outage the other day when I was writing this post.  It at least kicked me out of the hostel and got me going.  It was an amazing rest of the day.  I went out to lunch with a new friend from Switzerland, which was amazing, went to the grocery store to get sunscreen since mine didn’t make my pack for some reason, walked around the City again, took a video, had another juice ice smoothie at my favorite juice bar .  The juice bar is also on Carrero 10 down the road from Casa Viena.  If you are walking towards the ocean and not towards Media Luna it is on the right side and there is a hostel before it with a street light pole or something in front of it.  I cannot remember for the life of me but the drinks are either fresh or frozen fruit with water, ice, and sugar (if you choose that).  They also have coffee/espresso an serve a restaurant I think.  It costs between 3000 and 4000 COP but always made me feel better from the heat from the sugar, vitamins and cold!

Later that night an Aussie and I went out to find her a pina colada.  She wanted a fruity cocktail very bad.  We had to search around.  None in the area where we were had any such thing.  We knew we could find something in central historic area and ended up on the wall looking over the ocean at Cafe del a Mar or something along those lines.  It had some jazz fusion like music playing and it was nice to just sit in the rain and talk with someone like minded.  To just relax.  We then ran all around the City trying to find some dancing but it was only 1030 and the only dancing we found was like real dancing.  like with partners.  I cant dance let alone lantin dance.

So we went back and chatted with some people for a while and I went to bed I think my friend went and looked for something stronger than the cocktail.  It is very easy to get here, for sure.  You just walk down the street and and hear “buena coca” coming from some interesting looking ladies all over the place.  The prostitutes are numerous also.  But, none of it feels unsafe so much.  Maybe since I am not partaking :).

In the biggest news, I am in Santa Marta!  Since I am going with a new friend to Medellin next week I wanted to go to Tayrona before I head south/inland.  Honestly though, it is nice here, but I want to move to the cooler climate sooner than later.  I am over traveling in the heat.  I was enjoying the last few days in Michigan where it was COLD.  It was so hot (in the hundreds in MICHIGAN) until the last week I was there.  Maybe I will regret that later.  Also I am trying to find one place to just stay for a while.  Maybe volunteer at a hostel get to know some Colombians that could help me with my Spanish.  At least I am trying more.  Has anyone been to Guatape?

Anyway.  I have to go repack my back for Tayrona!  I will be trying my first local bus so here it goes.  I think I am just going to Taganga and catching the boat.  Hiking that long with my full pack in this heat does NOT sound like fun.  Maybe boat in and hike out?

Hopefully I will not keep forgetting things.  I left my camera charging at Casa Viena, though they have it and I am going to get it before I leave to the airport.  So I might not have a lot of pictures.

Buenes Noches.

Leave a Reply

