Detours and Road Blocks

Detour Before it Begins

Things will always go wrong if they can go wrong.  Isn’t that Murphy’s Law or something?  Every time things go wrong I have to believe it is to put me on an even better path or else I might go crazy.  First my oil sending unit (?) burst in Winter Haven, thankfully in front of a shop.  I got the car fixed for only $20 if I got an oil change at the same time, an oil change I had been putting off.  Only I missed yoga and did not get to the restaurant on time for a seat and got to bed so late I did not get to do the trail the next day and yoga got rained out Sunday also.  I however rested, spent time with S, and caught up.  It was not what I planned but it was a good time.  I would not have traded the extra time with S for everything going right, we had our famous deep philosophical talks.  I miss them.

Tropical Storm Debbie

Then there was Tropical Storm Debbie.  I was going to Savannah to walk around and take pictures and stopping in Jacksonville, FL first to see the massage therapist that changed my life by turning me onto yoga for healing my body.  So instead of just moving on from Jacksonville, I looked up some couch surfing (as I have yet to actually couch surf) and who should be on there but the same massage therapist.  So I asked if he knew anyone able to take a couch surfer and surf his spare bed I did.  I got to know him and his family more, including his completely adorable 8 month old son.

Keith also suggested a place I could see in Georgia would be the Hostel in the Forest.  I thought I would not be able to go because I needed to take pictures in Savannah, right?  Well Debbie decided to slow down and not go anywhere.  Stay one more night with my new friends or continue on?  I felt I really needed to cross the Florida border, as if the storm was testing me and my resolve to really start this trip I had been putting off for so long in my life.  So what is one tiny tropical storm to get in my way?  Right?

A mess, that is what it is.  A giant mess.  If there is one thing you are always able to use for an excuse is a tropical storm.  Honestly, it is okay to not drive through torrential rain storm with gusts of wind blowing people into your lane.

Hostel in the Forest

After an incredibly crazy drive through the storm and almost getting stuck in the driveway, as soon as I set foot into the actual hostel area, I realized I needed to stay another day.  My entire body seemed to let go of all the stress from the last few days.  It was amazing how liberating the place was.  I really needed to let go of the expectations from my trip and the expectations I place on myself.  In a yoga class at Asheville Yoga Center, the teacher said to let go of all the definitions of who you are and who you are supposed to be.  In that class you are supposed to be who ever you are in that moment.  That is what I am working on for this trip.  At the forest that was the closest I had been to that person yet.  It was just what I needed to start my trip.

While at the hostel I was going to do yoga when some people asked me if I could lead a class.  I said no, I am not a teacher.  Later more people asked so I did lead a small class.  I am not good enough or not a teacher or do not have something to offer are all things I have used in the past when people have asked me if I would like to teach or lead a class or just do yoga together.  But while I was there I was able to do it and it was amazing.  The second night I was there I also taught a class but this one was a candle light class in the glass room which is an isolated, octagonal glass room overlooking a pond.

St. Simons

The next day I spent part of the day at the Hostel and the massage therapist and Reiki master Donna was from St. Simons and wanted to show me around town so it was another detour.  We had the most amazing sea food lunch at Gnats Landing (I think that was the name) and spent the day touring the island and hitting the beach.

Savannah

That night I left to Savannah and stayed at a cheap motel, Inn at Mulberry Grove, close to I-95.  It was very nice and clean compared to many hotels I have stayed at and the furnishings were upscale and it included free breakfast.  I got it for 40 dollars bid on Priceline, while in their parking lot, with Name Your Own Price.  Only I could not sleep, so I did not get to Savannah until almost noon.  And it was hot, HOT, HOT!

So hot that I only stayed for four or five hours before I could not handle it any more. I started from there towards Black Mountain a day early and skipped a second night in Savannah or Charleston.

Black Mountain

Somehow my GPS took me to the scenic route through Route 9.  In the dark up and down a windy mountain road.  Another detour.  It was however gorgeous. I arrived later than I thought I would and ended up chilling out with my friends I had not seen for a while and my car STILL smelled like burning oil.  Turns out I have leaks.  Like four or five oil leaks.  Yes that many.  So now what?  Another detour.  I have been in the Asheville area for a week now.  But in that time I have played play-dough with an adorable three-year old, saw gorgeous waterfalls, did yoga, went to a dance collective dance wave, and in general had a great time.

What is Next?

I am going to have to take a much more direct route home and I need to figure that out.  But I have had a great time and saw some great things.  I am heading to a drum circle tonight.  Everything is just a reminder to let go.  Let go of where I am supposed to go when I am supposed to get there and who I am while traveling.  If I can let go, I can let so much more into my life.

One thought on “Detours and Road Blocks

  1. Pingback: Dancing in Asheville | Upcycled Bliss

Leave a Reply

