Updates! Travel Links and Eye-Fi review

I updated the travel links adding some Machu Picchu information and a few more blogs and some more information on house sitting from Nora Dunn, The Professional Hobo, and Hektic Travels.  Oh also, I added a list of products I have and a list of products I want.

I also have been using my Eye-Fi Card and can say it does more than it says it does.  Only, it does not tell you what it does and you discover it by accident.  I walked around the east side of Lake Eola Downtown Orlando on Monday for my lunch break.  I took pictures of parks and bike racks and then…the swans.

I always tell people not to feed the birds and watch their kids, and I mean it.  The birds can be intense.  I was taking pictures of a swan from a distance when suddenly the entire flock of ducks and swans started swimming towards me.  I did not have any bread for them and they became disinterested.  However, the swan on the land did not take no bread as an answer.  He started chasing me around.  And then when I left I started taking pictures of a few other swans and they started hissing at me and chasing me too.  I would say leave the swans be…

But, back to my review…it was not just as easy as plug in the card and go.  First I made sure my twitter account was set up to give me notifications and update every 30 seconds because the card will give you notices of when uploads start, finish, pause, and restart.  I had to remember how to turn my card on on the Android App.  Remember the wifi setting on your phone has to be on. I opened the app and took a picture and nothing happened.  I was confused.  So I walked around and then checked the phone as I went and viola, eventually the phone picked up the card and we were off.  There are random spots of wifi all over downtown which are on the Easy Wifi network, but each time you move in and out of one the card must reconnect to the phone.  Also, something I learned much later, which is common sense and I am sure says many times in the instructions, you must have the camera on, and not in sleep mode!  My screen goes to sleep in 30 seconds so each time it does that it has to reset the connection.

After walking around and having only a few photos download onto my phone, and not necessarily in the order I took them, I stopped at Starbucks to get a tea on the way back to work and be in a place I KNOW there is open wifi.  While I was leaving I noticed that the Eye-Fi app had stopped working giving a message stating the battery was too low on the phone.  And it certainly did suck the life out of my phone.  When I got back about 19 pictures were downloaded on the phone and I checked Photobucket, only around 5 uploaded to Photobucket.  So I just let the phone set (plugged in) next to the camera.  It was busy for a while but nothing was up on the phone and nothing was new on Photobucket.

That is when I realized the camera had to be on and that my camera batter was not going to last much longer.  But, just when I thought the day was a waste, in a few minutes all the files were on Photobucket, in their own folder dated and set to customer privacy settings.  It was nice.

Then today after I restarted my phone, the Eye-Fi App I had shut down the day before was uploading more pictures.  I need to check my Eye-Fi account to see if they all made it to the account, they are all on Photobucket I think. Also, later when I tethered my phone, a little window popped up in the bottom corner (Eye-Fi was still running) there was a status update of the upload and small version of the pictures.

So things I learned:

  • I think I am sending it to too many places.  I might possibly have my phone AND my computer set up to send it to Photobucket. But I am not sure what is happening I need to try it with a smaller set of pictures at a time I can monitor it closely.
  • My phone is way outdated and has trouble with the app. Nothing new to me.
  • Downloading and uploading at same time seems to cause problems on my phone.  One picture would be downloading while one was uploading.  It would sometimes cause delays with the next picture or pause.  I think this is my phone though.  It crashes once a day any more.
  • I think it is useless to upload all to my phone.  You can set only certain pictures to go to your phone I think using the protection settings in your camera.  I might have to try this.
  • The card tells you more and does more than the site says.  You just have to learn it as you go because directions are mostly glossy pictures and fun text.
  • I would like to test the upload/download speeds at someplace where I do not have a private network set up (like I do at work).  Maybe go to Starbucks.  But I need to remember to leave the camera on!
  • Find out if the phone and computer settings are just duplication.
2 thoughts on “Updates! Travel Links and Eye-Fi review

  1. I have mine setup on my iPad, Phone and Computer. I found that my phone battery was killed very fast when I was taking pictures but it uploaded everything I took to my Flickr account. I also noticed that if I keep the computer turned on at home, when I get home the pictures are already on my external hard drive.

    I changed a setting which I have to fix, so now it will only upload when I am in my WIFI network. But, I agree, the Eyefi card is amazing.

    • Yeah, the relay setting I think is what you changed.

      I think I am going to see if I don’t send to my phone does it all go to Photobucket anyway. If it does I am just going to get a paid subscription to have full size files added there since I can always dl from there. Maybe get back up storage with eyefi or cloud. It is pretty awesome, just have to really play with it to get the hang of it. Which I don’t have time to right now :(. After I move I will :).

Leave a Reply

