Packing (or procrastinating from packing writing a blog post)

Procrastinating

I have been having a hard time forcing myself to pack up.  And I am an organization freak too, so that is odd for me.  I realized that this is because this is really the first big step that makes this all real.  It will also mean living minimally for several months here in Florida while I am working.  I have had this plan for so long, but most of the plan involved sitting tight and saving money and waiting for the right moment.  Well the right moment never came and I realized I have to really take the moment I want.  So, although it is not leaving the country yet, it is a first step to being there.

Also I think the unknown of no address and no stuff to keep me “comfortable” and “secure” is something I am more nervous about than traveling.  Traveling sounds exciting.  Moving and selling things and not having “my own space” is terrifying.  I am giving up a lot of stuff I thought I needed to be happy because I could not do what I wanted to do in order to do what I want to do.

“You are not your words, you are your actions.”

I have been told this many times.  Now it makes so much more sense.  You can say I am the type of person who likes to travel or you can say I am a traveler.  Saying you like or want to do something does not tell if you are a person of action or just a dreamer.  People say a lot of crap but their actions prove those words and put dreams into actions.  So I am going to be a packer for the rest of the night.  I am going to put up our garage sale on Craigslist with a list of pictures of my big ticket items.  I am going to be dedicated, dedicated to myself and to my dreams.

This weekend I need to pack, pack, pack.  I have an eye appointment Friday to get glasses and a massage and therapy appointment on Friday (necessary for all this stress).  I am going to be a packer not a pack rat.  I am going to live a life of memories not of stuff.  I am going to be a doer and not an I will do it tomorrow-er.

Any other site suggestions for posting garage/yard/moving sale items?

2 thoughts on “Packing (or procrastinating from packing writing a blog post)

  1. Don’t “pack, pack, pack”, just pack 🙂 Once you’re on your journey you will realise that, whilst it’s nice to have lovely things around you, you really can be happier without so much stuff. Enjoy the process!

Leave a Reply

