First Purchase for Trip…check

I have been putting off a lot of things lately.  There is simply too much to do and not enough time or energy for me to do them.  So instead of choosing what to do I have been mostly taking naps.  I need to pack up stuff, sort stuff, price stuff, donate stuff (I really have way to much stuff).  I need to go to the eye doctor before I leave and get a pair of glasses.  I need to figure out what I need to buy for the trip, apply for visas, write a letter of resignation, etc….

Really, too much heavy things to think about.  But, today I was successful!  I went to see my therapist and discuss my lack of energy and better dealing with disappointments/changes in plans.  I figure those are both things I will need to have worked out before I leave.  So we started with the fact that my energy has been so low and I realized my hormones are off-balance because I am not regular.  So he suggested I go to these herb store, which someone else had suggested the a few days before.  To me, two suggestions in one week means its fate.  So off I went after our session to talk to this nice woman named Cathryn about my menstrual and energy needs.  When I get there I realize its next to my eye doctor!  Two birds one stone sort of moment and I scheduled an appointment to get my eyes checked first.

Now I the herb store was small but packed.  There were a lot of essential oils, supplements, natural cleansers, etc.  I asked Cathryn what I would need and she immediately gets incredibly excited.  She reads me and gets the impression I need something very simple and very natural.  This is her favorite product!  She loves this product (she apparently starts to read my skepticism), but, she gets the impression I am not the type who takes supplements, including vitamins (I don’t).  I explain that I have tried many things and if they work I keep them and if not they are gone. So we come to an agreement that I will try the Maca for one month and she gives me some literature.

I start reading…Maca is a Peruvian root vegetable used for many years by the locals as a means to increase energy and stamina.  Its main uses are for menopause, sexual dysfunction and fertility (well its hormone balancing then? Not looking to be more fertile though).  So, we shall see if it works.  If not, does anyone need to fix erectile dysfunction?  I also bought some non DEET bug repellent and some peppermint essential oil

On my way back home I bought some tags to price stuff for the garage sale and some chocolate (though they did sell some chocolate Maca bars I did not partake).  I got a text from my friend Ni who wanted to go to Happy Hour Yoga at Serenity Now Yoga.  Afterwards we got desert at 4 Rivers (I know, more chocolate!) and then she had to return some shoes.  Since I needed to look at hiking shoes, I went with her to DSW for the pair of Merrell Cambria Straps I have been wanting.  I also looked at the hiking shoes.  I am just worried about not using them enough at the beginning of the trip and having them be a dead weight (a heavy weight) in my pack.  But, they also had the newer Merrell Barefoot True Glove which is a trail running minimalist shoe.  I tried it on and it feels soooo good.  However, it’s not the most supported shoe because the whole idea is putting your foot in the most supporting position and it avoids too much heel padding to keep you from landing on your heel (should always run mid foot).  I am not sure how much they would hold up for just trail shoes though, there are plenty of reviews on them though.  I would like them because then I would not need to have a pair of running shoes and a pair of trail shoes.  They are also very, very light.  Any opinions?  Suggestions of other shoes?

So all in one day I have got the tags to mark my garage sale goods, got some medicine for energy, scheduled the eye appointment, and got my trail sandals. Not bad for a day where I slept in until noon – did I mention I am running on empty lately?

2 thoughts on “First Purchase for Trip…check

  1. Pingback: Things I Will Miss Most #1 | Upcycled Bliss

  2. Pingback: New Purchases for Trip | Upcycled Bliss

Leave a Reply

