It’s Boney James Ya’all!

I love music.  I especially love live music.  I recently went and saw the jazz saxophone player Boney James for the 4thish time.  I love Boney James.  His music is, as my girl Ni likes to say, “baby making music.”  His concerts are a mix of jazz and soul and R&B and he is just amazing.  He blends so many genres it is great for everyone with such a smooth soulful sound you want to groove along.  Did I say I love Boney?

I bought the tickets for my friend Kathy and I to go to for her Birthday.  I much prefer gifts that are trips or experiences.  Because of car problems and a Thursday night show, we could not have dinner together before the show.  So I used my Cheesecake Factory gift certificate I won at my work Christmas party and bought us avocado egg rolls, crab and shrimp dip, and stuffed mushrooms for dinner and a piña colada cake cheesecake for desert.  And the best part?  We ate it off of the trunk of my car.  As I was setting it up waiting for Kathy to arrive, people were slowing down as they drove by.  For a few minutes I wondered if I should go someplace else to set up our picnic, until I realized I had done stranger things and will do even stranger things, so why worry.

After a nice sugar high, we went in to see the concert where there were several empty rows.  The venue was Plaza Live Theater in Orlando.  It is a stage theater converted from an old movie theater.  There are two stages.  There is a bar and food vendors inside but decoration and finish inside is minimalist. Its no frills but smaller, more intimate and has good sound.

Finally a good concert photo!

Before the show started we finally got a good picture of us together at a concert.  Opening act was a guy who pretty much played every sound you would want on his guitar and recorded them into the background and played and sang vocals over the recording.  He recorded it on the stage.  His name is Chris Burns.

Chris Burns February 2012

Right before I the end of intermission is when I found out the Japan results were up but I could not find my application number before the show.  I tried to forget about it, but like that was going to happen.  So here Kathy and I were using my phone to view my ap and hers to record the number in the middle of this concert. I apologize to the concert Gods and Boney and the people around me.  But when I found out I thoroughly enjoyed the concert, even though I did not get in.

Except for the crazy guy.  There was a guy who was telling his wife not to yell out.  it was funny since he went frickin crazy.  CRAZY.  “Boneeeeeyyyyyyy!  OHHHHHH!!!  Ohhh, yeah!!”  We wondered if he wanted a room.

But Boney was hot as ever.  The entire crowd was grooving.  Women were dancing in the aisles and next to the stage.  Boney did his dancing as usual and passed right behind us through the crowd.

It is a great way of spending one of my last weekends in the Central Florida area.  Next up?  March 2 in Clearwater to see Chris Botti!

The pictures kind of suck, but here they are!

Can someone explain to me how to wrap the photos so I can align two photos next to each other?

One thought on “It’s Boney James Ya’all!

  1. Pingback: Saying Good-Bye | Upcycled Bliss

Leave a Reply

